

NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY RAIPUR

(An Institute of National Importance)

G.E. Road, Raipur, Chhattisgarh- 492010

NITRR/R-1/2019/241

Date 05.07.2019

37th Meeting of Senate

(Special Senate)

Minutes

The 37^{th} meeting of Senate of NIT, Raipur was held on 05.07.2019 at 03:00 P.M. in the Conference Hall of the Institute.

Following officials were present in the meeting:

1	Dr A. M. Rawani	Chairman & Director , NIT Raipur		
2	Dr. Shrish Verma	Dean (Academics)		
3	Dr. S. Gupta	Dean (R&C)		
4	Dr. Mrs. A.B. Soni	Dean (Faculty Welfare)		
5	Dr. Prabhat Diwan	Dean (Student Welfare) & Head, Deptt. of Applied Geology		
6	Dr. D. Sanyal	Head, Deptt. of Architecture		
7	Dr. B.K. Singh	Head, Deptt. of Biomedical Engineering		
8	Dr. Pratima Gupta	Head ,Deptt of Biotechnology		
9	Dr. U.K. Dewangan	Head, Deptt of Civil Engineering		
10	Dr. V. K. Singh	Head, Deptt. of Chemical Engineering		
11	Dr. S. P. Mahapatra	Head, Deptt of Chemistry		
12	Dr. Pradeep Singh	Head, Deptt. of Computer Science & Engineering		
13	Dr. Narendra D. Londhe	Head, Deptt. of Electrical Engineering		
14	Dr. B. Acharya	Head, Deptt of Electronics & Telecomm. Engineering		
15	Dr. S. D. Patle	Head, Deptt. of Humanities and Social Sciences		
16	Dr. S. P. Sahu	Head , Deptt of Information Technology		
17	Dr. Arvind Kr. Sinha	Head, Deptt. of Mathematics		
18	Dr. Nitin Jain	Head [I/c], Deptt of Mechanical Engineering		
19	Dr. R. K. Tripathi	Head, Deptt. of Computer Applications		
20	Dr. Pankaj Dewangan	Head, Deptt of Mining Engineering		
21	Dr. M. K. Tripahti	Head , Deptt of Metallurgical Engineering		
22	Dr. A. K. Srivastava	Head, Deptt of Physics		
23	Dr. Anil Kr. Tiwar	Professor, Deptt. of Mechanical Engg.		
24	Dr. Abir Bandyopadhyay	Professor, Deptt. of Architecture		
25	Dr. Manoj Pradhan	Professor, Deptt. of Mining Engg and Chief Warden (Boys' Hostel)		
26	Dr. Sameer Bajpai	Professor, Deptt. of Civil Engg. & Head (CDC)		
27	Dr. S. Sanyal	Professor, Deptt. of Mechanical Engineering		
28	Dr. S.L. Sinha	Professor, Deptt. of Mechanical Engineering		
29	Dr. S.P.S.Matharu	Professor, Deptt. of Mechanical Engineering		
30	Dr. Sadhana Agrawal	Professor, Deptt. of Physics & Chief Warden (Girls' Hostel)		
31	Dr. M. Atulkar	Controller of Examination & Registrar [I/c]		
32	Dr. Prakash Dhekne	Registrar [I/c] and Secretary, Senate, NIT Raipur		

The Chairman, Senate extended warm welcome to all the members present in the meeting and apprised the House that three external members of the Senate, namely; Dr. Indrapal Singh, Dr. Siraj Ahmed and Dr. Seemita Mohanty could not attend the meeting due to their other commitments and were granted leave of absence.

Secretary, Senate commenced the meeting with kind permission of the Chair and the Dean (Academics) briefed details of agenda items. Following are the discourse of the meeting:

Agenda No.37.1	To confirm the minutes of 36 th meeting of Senate held on 21.05.2019			
Resolution	The minutes of 36 th meeting of Senate was confirmed			
Agenda No.37.2	To note the action taken report on the minutes of 36th meeting of Senate.			
Resolution	The action taken report on the minutes of 36 th meeting of Senate of NIT Raipur held on 21.05.2019 were noted by the Senate.			
Agenda No.37.3	To approve the syllabus of 1,2,3 and 4th Semester of different disciplines of B.Tech program of the Institute			
Resolution	The Senate approved the revised syllabus of 1,2,3 and 4th Semester of different disciplines of B.Tech program of the Institute with some modifications. The suggested modifications were incorporated.			
	The Senate also directed to all the Heads to ensure necessary preparation on account of the revision of syllabus before the commencement of classes for the Academic Session 2019-20.			
Agenda No.37.4	To approve the syllabus of 1,2,3 and 4th Semester of B.Arch. Program			
Resolution	The Senate approved the revised syllabus of 1,2,3 and 4 th Semester of B.Arch. program of the Institute.			
Agenda No.37.5	To approve the syllabus of 1,2,3 and 4 th Semester of MCA Program			
Resolution	The Senate approved revised syllabus and scheme of studies of 1,2,3,4,5 & 6th Semester of MCA Pogram as the same was complete and was vetted by the DAC in totality.			
Agenda No.37.6	To consider the inclusion of name of Dr. Ajoy Kumar Behera, MD in Tuberculosis and Respiratory Disease, (Associate Professor & HOD, Deptt. of Pulmonary Medicines, AIIMS Raipur) as Joint Supervisor for Ms. Divya Singh, Ph.D Scholar, Deptt. of Biomedical Engg.			

Resolution	The Senate approved the appointment of Dr. Ajoy Kumar Behera, as Joint Supervisor for Ms. Divya Singh, Ph.D Scholar, Deptt. of Biomedical Engg. His appointment as Joint-Supervisor will be governed by the terms and conditions as specified in the Ph.D Ordinance of the Institute.					
Agenda No.37.7	To approve the modifications in the UFM rules for all the courses running under existing Ordinance as per UFM Rules approved in the Last meeting of Senate for new Ordinance.					
Resolution	To Senate approved the new UFM rules-2019 for implementation in Institute with slight modification at Category 'E' and 'F' of the category offence as stated below:					
	1. The category E under Category of Offence is modified to be read as:					
	'E: Two times indulgence in UFM in any of the category of offence spin the UFM rules except Category-'A' and					
	2. The category E under Category of Offence is modified to be read as:					
	'F: More than two times indulgence in UFM in any of the category of offer					
	specified in the UFM rules except Category-A & E' and					
		Category of offence	Offence(s)	Penalty		
		G	Any other UFM case not covered under the above categories			
	The new UFM rules shall come into force from the current Academic Session, i.e. 2019-20. Senate Observed that similar change is needed in the UFM rules which were approved in 35th & 36th Senate meetings dated 12.02.2019, 21.05.2019, respectively alongwith new B.Tech., B.Arch. and MCA ordinances. Chairman Senate directed to incorporate these changes and confirm the same by circulating to the members.					
Agenda No.37.8	To consider the case of Mr. Gopal Prasad Naik for re-registration in Ph.D program in the Deptt. of Chemical Engg.					
Resolution	To Senate duly considered the matter of Mr. Gopal Prasad Naik for registration into Ph.D Program. After thorough discussion and scrutiny of application and all the documents submitted by the candidate, the Senate to ease of re-registration of the candidate. It was also directed by the Senate to offer provisional admission to secondidates up to certain date (as may be decided by the Dean (Academics)					

submit all the requisite documents. After completion of such fixed due date the candidature of such candidates stands automatically cancelled due to non-submission of requisite documents.

As there was no other item for discussion, the meeting ended with vote of thanks to the Chair.

The Chairman, Senate directed to obtain the confirmation of minutes by circulation.

Dr. P.Y. Dhekne Registrar [I/c] Dr. A.M. Rawani Director& Chairman